Nike Women’s Half Marathon SF

Hey there!

This past weekend I had a great time participating in the Nike Women’s (Half) Marathon in San Francisco. I had already run my first and second half marathons within this past year when my girlfriend asked me if I wanted to enter the lottery drawing for Nike Women’s as a team with a few girlfriends.  I wasn’t really planning on doing another long race this year but it’s not easy to get into Nike SF and I knew I’d regret not doing it if my friends  got in so I said why not?! Well lo and behold our team, which my friend Sami aptly named “WTF” (Where’s The Finish!?), got picked in the random drawing and we were officially registered for the race.

The weekend started off with an exciting surprise, my friend Sami asked me (and the other two girls on our team) to be a bridesmaid in her wedding next year! How cute are these cookies she made herself?

IMG_4478IMG_4479

Next we  headed into the city and had a great time enjoying some delicious carby pasta and 13.1 miles of running which included a lot more hills than any of us expected! : /

View from our lovely (teeny tiny) hotel room on the Embarcadero:

IMG_4480

We got up around 5a.m. on race day to hydrate and eat a little something before walking to the start at Union Square. Super excited morning face:

IMG_4481

We were able to walk from our hotel to the start of the race which was sectioned off by estimated pace so each pace group went to a different street in order to accommodate the 30,000 (!!) runners:

IMG_4483

See the sea of people and then what looks like fireworks way down the line? Yeah that was the actual start line! The race started at 6:30 a.m. but it took us about 40 minutes to cross the start line.

IMG_4492

Team WTF

The sun was just coming up as we started the run and it was a beautiful cool morning for a race. It did stay foggy throughout the entire race though, so although the course has some great views we didn’t even see much of it! I ran the majority of the race with my friend Beth but we split up when we got to the first big hill. Yikes, those hills were tough!

I had a great race for the most part although the hills were pretty killer for me. My quads are very sore from the downhill parts!  Also, it was such a big race that we were definitely weaving between people the whole time. The good thing about this is I started out slower than my normal pace which helped me get through the hills and the last three miles which is when I usually hit my wall.

The finish!

IMG_4484IMG_4486

The necklace:

IMG_4493

The firefighters:

IMG_4470

The race itself was a lot of fun, so much energy and adrenaline from all of the people running as well as people cheering us on! The main downside in my opinion was at the finish. It was super crowded and difficult to find the rest of my team. We had pre-paid for a shuttle ticket to take us from the finish back to the start at Union Square but then we saw the line just to get on the shuttles…it must have been at least a 2 hour wait and we were freezing and hungry. We luckily were able to get a cab and head back to our hotel to check out.

They included a little card that explained the design of this year’s necklace that went something like this: “Nike” means Victory in Ancient Greece and the number “10” was symbolized by a triangle as well as the roman numeral “X”:

13633063-large

I hope everyone has a great weekend! 🙂

P.S. I highly recommend this shrimp pasta recipe that I tried out for the first time this week. I added some jalapeños, red bell pepper, and cilantro to the mix and some kale chips on the side. It was delicious!

Leave a Reply

